How to achieve long, sexy, gorgeous lashes!

IMG_3729

IMG_3736

Everyone has a certain part on their body that they love. When applying makeup, some people prefer making their brows stand out, creating a smaller nose with contouring, applying the smokey eye look to make your eyes “pop”, or even applying a  bold lipstick. Personally, I have always been a mascara girl. I love a thick, clumpy,bold mascara look to my eyelashes helps make them pop and stand out way more. I have never been a fan of “little”amounts of mascara, or mascara that you can hardly see on your lashes… I mean.. what’s the point?! Everyone has their own preference on the amount of mascara they like to use each day. If you are not a fan of the spider lashes or clumpy look, I would not recommend reading this specific blog post. If you are looking to create depth, volume and bold lashes, please keep on reading and I hope this article helps you!

There are many different kinds of mascaras that are out there in the world. Whether it be brands like Maybelline, L’Oreal Paris, Covergirl, or even high end brands like Benefit Cosmetics, there are many different mascaras out there to try. Being a mascara fanatic, I have tried my fair share of mascaras over the years ranging from drugstore to high end brands. Through trial and error, I have finally found my holy grail mascara. I have been asked over the years, “how do you do your mascara?” or “how do you get your lashes so long?”. Everyone has different lengths when discussing lashes. Fortunately I was blessed with longer lashes, but just because you have short lashes doesn’t mean you can’t make them appear longer. Having bold, clumpy, spider-like lashes depends on the type of mascara you use, and the application you use as well. The mascara that I have been using over the years and have fell in love with is L’Oreal Paris Telescopic carbon black mascara. This is by far, my favourite mascara of all time. You can find this product at Walmart, Shoppers, or any drug store. It is a bit on the pricey side as you can purchase it for $11.00 , but when you compare this price to high end mascaras, it’s fantastic. If you are looking to buy a high end mascara, you are looking around more than $20.00.  The brush that the mascara comes with is very skinny. This helps to ensure you are creating length for your lashes. Basically, you have a drug store product that works just as well as a high end product and it’s affordable. I would highly highly recommend this mascara !

IMG_3717

IMG_3735

The next product that I use in my mascara routine each morning is an eyelash  primer. I bought this one at Sephora, and it a more high end primer. You can purchase this for around $36.00,but it is worth every penny I find! I have not really tried out any other lash primer before this one, so there may be a cheaper one out there that works just as good. This product is called Diorshow Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum. I know what you are thinking… why do I need to purchase a primer for my lashes? This is just like a primer for your face. It helps to keep your mascara on throughout the day, and also helps give that extra plump for your lashes when creating depth. I would highly recommend trying out this product for yourself!  Also be prepared that the serum is white. This leaves your lashes with white residue on them but disappears when you apply your mascara.

IMG_3734

IMG_3730

The last product that I use in my mascara routine each morning is strictly for my bottom lashes. This is a product also by L’Oreal Paris and it is called Telescopic Shocking Extensions.  I strictly use this for my bottom lashes since they are shorter and this helps them appear much longer than what they are. You can purchase this right beside where you find your Telescopic Carbon Black Mascara.  It ranges around $11.00 just like the other mascara, but I would highly recommend trying this out for your bottom lashes.

IMG_3721

IMG_3722

Now that you are all set with your different lash products, it is now time to go over the proper application technique towards applying these products. Do not rush when you are applying these products, as it does take time to achieve this specific lash look.

IMG_3716

If you would like to use an eyelash curler before applying any of the products you can, personally I do not use one, but that is optional! If you choose to not use one, you can start by applying the Diorshow Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum to your lashes to help add a layer for extra plumping. You can also distribute this on your bottom lashes as well, but I mainly focus on the top lashes. Be prepared for nice white lashes for now ladies!

IMG_3723This process usually take around a minute or so to complete. I would highly recommend purchasing a primer and applying one before your mascara. I have noticed a huge difference in my lashes applying a primer before my mascara. My lashes appear more bold, and have a lot of volume to them as well! After you are doing this step, simply wait around 2 minutes for the serum to dry before applying your first coat of mascara.

IMG_3733

When your lashes have taken time to dry from the serum, you are now able to apply one mascara coat to your lashes. When applying the first coat, be sure to blink as this ensures you are coating all your lashes from the root to the top. Also ensure you are wiggling the brush from side to side when applying the mascara. Everyone has their own way of applying their mascara and knows what works best for them, but I found this technique works best for myself. You will notice a difference right away in the length of your lashes after only applying one coat… its amazing.

IMG_3719

Feel free to play around with your lashes and keep going through them with your mascara wand to ensure you are happy with them. Do not worry if you get some excess mascara all over your eye lid or even under your eye… this happens to me ALL the time. Simply after you are finished your mascara, take a Q-tip and remove all the excess mascara on your skin. Do not worry about putting mascara on your bottom lashes just yet. I like to leave this step for last, since it pretty much sums up your mascara routine. You should wait around 5 minutes to apply a second coat to your lashes, but this time, you are applying them to the top of your lashes. This is a mandatory step if you want to create more depth to your lashes and this is one of my secret when achieving bold lashes.

IMG_3737

After waiting the 5 minutes for the first layer of mascara to dry, you are able to start the second coat. When you are applying mascara to the top of your lashes, it helps to curl the mascara wand upwards while applying. You can blink or close your eyes slightly when completing this process. You will notice a huge difference after applying mascara to the top of your lashes. You lashes appear more bold, spider-like, clumpy and dramatic.

IMG_3724

Again, feel free to play around with your lashes until you are happy with the way that they look. When you are satisfied with the look, you can now move onto the bottom lashes. Go in with your LÒreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions mascara and simply fan like lashes back and forth in a “wiggle“ action. This helps to ensure that you are covering all of the lash from the root to the tip. I do not usually apply a second coat of mascara to my bottom lashes, but if you want them to appear more bold, you can apply another coat.

IMG_3728

IMG_3739

Now that you know how I apply my everyday mascara, feel free to try out these products and techniques! I hope that you found this article helpful, please feel free to message me if you have any questions!

IMG_3738

( Left side indicating the finished look after using these products as opposed to my naked right eye)

much love xo.

Leave a Reply

