“A Letter to my Bestfriend”

Processed with MOLDIV

Hello my beauties! I decided to do a bit of a “series” of letters basically directed to people anonymously. I will not mention any names but I thought this was a neat concept and idea in order to get all my emotions/feelings towards these individuals out on paper. Basically they are going to start off saying ” A letter to so-and-so”. I am going to obviously change it up every week, but let me know what you guys think of my little mini series!

Dear Bestfriend ,

Going into University I was secretly trying to heal. I was dealing with a relationship that was extremely unhealthy and I knew that but I really did not want to believe it. When I came into that house I secretly think you knew that about me, even though you did not know me as a person. See, I have a tendency to hide things, personal things from people. Unless I am extremely close to you, I will not tell you all of my darkest secrets. Best friend I want to ask you a question. Even though you did not know me as an individual, how did you already know that I was secretly drowning in my current relationship?  Even when he came over to visit, you knew things were not right. I want to thank you for your courage. Your courage to tell me that you knew I could do better. Your courage to pull me aside and ask if I was okay. Your courage to say a sarcastic remark back to him when he put me down infront of you. But you see, this is not about him, it’s about you.  Your courage is stronger than others, not just within this situation,  but in general. Sometimes I feel that I can see it more than you can at times, but that’s okay, because I know you will see it clearer at some point in life. Overall I want to say thank you. Before I met you, I had friends here and there but I did not have that goofy friend you see in movies where you can share everything with.

By everything I do not just mean candies, chocolate and clothes. I mean life chats, sharing your family events, sharing your darkest secrets, and offering support. The amount of support that I have received from you over the years is indescribable. I am not just talking about you listening to my rants over things and providing that amazing advice you always give. No. I am talking about that sign you wrote in the window to wish me good luck on my exam, I am talking about the times you held me when I thought the world was falling down around me, those times when you would write me cute random notes to brighten my day. These are the little things that truly make you my best friend. When I was going through my “hard time”, you barged into my room and pretty much saved me when maybe I did not want to be saved. Thank you for being my guardian angel.  You listened to me even when I did not want to listen to myself speak. You took in what I was saying, and did not react in a way that made me seem psychotic. Instead, you provided the support I needed, and just laid with me in my bed. For that, I want to say thank you. Thank you for making so many positive quotes and hanging them up on my wall. For taking the time to come up with these beautiful sayings when I needed to read them and see them the most. For using your artistic qualities to hang them all over my room, and write me a heart felt note to make sure I was okay. I want to say thank you.

Thank you for showing me the positive side of life. For giving me something to look forward to each day. For allowing me to experience new things in the world, in a “not-so-shy view point”. Your outgoing personality grows on people, just as much as your beauty. Somedays I feel like you don’t see that, but I just want to enforce that when I say “you are beautiful” I truly mean it.  If I could write a whole list of everything I loved about you, I would’ve wrote a hundred pages by now. Although sometimes I know you don’t see all the wonderful things, I want you to know that others do, including myself. I want to thank you for making this world a more beautiful place to be in.  I want to thank you for making me laugh until my stomach hurts. The nights where we just sit there and have life chats. All of these moments I cherish so much. Why? Because I get to share them with you best friend. Thank you for sharing your life with me and allowing me to get to know who you are as a person, and your family. You have given me the opportunity to see how beautiful of a person you truly are, and I want to broadcast that with others. What we have is something special.  I would not trade it for anything else in the world.

Thank you for being everything I could ask for in a best friend, in fact, you go above and beyond. I really wish you could see how amazing you are as a person, because nobody compares to you. From seeing each other at our lowest to our best, you have always been there for me and I appreciate it so much.  Being around you, I know it’s always going to be a great time. You recreate the definition of “fun” and make it so much more. Some people are way too serious in life, but you know when to switch that off. Sure we have our ups and downs, but sooner or later we are laughing about it or talking it out.  I love how independent you are. I love the “saying opposites do attract”, because I really do believe this is the case for us. From a quiet shy girl to an outgoing dominant girl, we truly have an inseparable bond. Thank you best friend, for just being you.

Want to know what I truly can not wait for best friend? I can not wait til my kids look at you like their second mom. I can not wait for our kids to play together one day , and we can tell them all of our wonderful stories back in the day. I look up to you best friend, and I know one day my kids will look up to you too. I want them to see and get to know the person who made me the girl I am today. The girl who made it through university with a few pushes here and there. I want them to know the true definition of what a best friend is and looks like. I can not wait to point to you.

Thank you best friend, for being my friend.

Love,

Alyssa

32decce5fabefd2fb2bc1f94d69240b0

Leave a Reply

